Types of boundary mark

Type 1

Type 1 obelisk

Obelisk 60 in April 2008
(Photo: Martin Nail)

All the canal and navigable river marks are of this type, which were presumably originally erected on the 20-mile boundary under the 1851 Act. The Index of the London District Coal Dues map lists six canal and river markers; there are currently five extant marks of this type, so even if one of the missing posts by the Thames at Dagenham was also of this type there would have been a spare example to use on the Slough Branch of the Grand Junction when it opened in 1882 (see Faulkner).

Page created by Martin Nail: Contact me. Last revised 4th March 2010

Creative Commons License This web site: Copyright 2010 Martin Nail. It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike 2.0 UK: England & Wales License.

Valid XHTML 1.0!  |  Valid CSS!  |  Level Triple-A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0